Summer is here…

First of all, apologies as I realise it has been an eternity since my last post! You may have even forgotten this blog exists… But what have I been doing since then?

Well since then, my stint in France has sadly ended but I promise that this blog shall soon be updated with posts about more places I visited whilst there. In other news however, I should really update you all on my current location. I have just made the exciting move last week to the glorious city that is Barcelona. Luckily for me, I shall be here for 3 months doing an internship. Not so luckily for me, I shall be working full-time. Monday to Friday. 10 am – 7 pm. Ah well, time to embrace inner Judy:

Despite this, I have already been able to visit a small part of the city. I am in the fortunate position of working in an office on the beautiful Passeig de Gràcia. This seemingly endless street begins in the fashionable and quirky area of Gràcia and stretches all the way down to Plaça de Catalunya; the central point of the city. It can not only boast of being the city’s most expensive street but also of spectacular architecture.

My first, and most definitely superficial, impression of Barcelona has been wonder at the wealth of unique and beautiful architecture here. Almost every street in the city centre has some building that makes you stop in amazement. Although I love Madrid’s energy, Barcelona most definitely trumps it in terms of architectural wow. Consequently I feel as if this city has a more touristy feel than its old rival though this does not detract from the city’s charm in any way.

From Plaça de Catalunya, one can continue onto the famous street of La Rambla. Here there is the famous Mercat de la Boqueria. Here there are the splendours of Spanish jamón ibérico, pescaderías and fruterías. This is not one for you however if you are particularly hateful of strong smells or vast hoards of people. Even I found myself thinking:

La Rambla extends all the way down to the beautiful harbour Port Vell. From here you can walk towards La Barceloneta. This area of the city is home to the beach and as a result, it is always packed full of people. Sociopaths, beware.

I am already enjoying my time here and this is just the beginning of my stint. I will be visiting every corner of this city so I promise to share more about Barcelona soon!

L.

x

 

Leave a comment